Celebrating academic success

Academic Promotions 2017

Eighty-five academic colleagues are celebrating their promotion to professor, reader, senior lecturer or senior research fellow in the 2019-20 academic year.

The new professors are:

Division of Arts and Humanities

Julie Anderson (History), Juliette Pattinson (History), Henrik Schoenefeldt (Architecture and Planning), Anna Schaffner (Comparative Literature)

Professor Anna Schaffner

Division of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences

Richard Guest (Engineering and Digital Arts), Rachel McCrea (Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science)

Professor Rachel McCrea

Education Directorate

Kathleen Quinlan

Division of Human and Social Sciences

Markus Bindemann, (Psychology), Matthew Skinner (Anthropology and Conservation)

Professor Matthew Skinner (with Professor Tracy Kivell)

Professor Matthew Skinner (with Professor Tracy Kivell)

Kent Business School

Joseph Amankwah-Amoah

Division for the Study of Law, Society and Social Justice

Lindsay Forbes (Centre for Health Services Studies), Karen Jones (PSSRU)

Division of Natural Sciences

John Dickinson (pictured – Sport and Exercise Sciences), James Hopker (Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Professor John Dickinson

Professor John Dickinson

Alison Ross-Green, Director of HR and Organisational Development, said:

‘The University is dependent upon the personal growth and career attainment of its academic staff to refresh, develop and strengthen our organisation for the future. Congratulations to all those promoted in 2019-20. Your hard work and focus on excellence help to ensure the outstanding student experience, research achievement and funding that is so important to our success going forward.’

You can see the full list of Academic Promotions 2019-20 here.

Last updated